His Truth Will Set You Free

Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

The Spirit Speaks – of Being Thankful

Leave a comment

Thankful

Right now, some of you may be thinking of things in your life you are thankful for. To be truly thankful for something, or someone, you need to deeply experience them. So it is with me, the Spirit of Jesus Christ.

Are you thankful for me in your life? I know it’s easy to immediately say yes, because your heart tells you that’s the right answer. But how do you truthfully feel right now? Do you FEEL thankful? Well, for many of you, if in this moment your heart and mind are more consumed with the cares of this world, the honest answer is that you don’t feel thankful, right now. It’s hard to feel thankful for me when you don’t feel my presence.

To feel thankful, you need to deeply experience me. So turn off the world. Go in your quiet place, shut the door on the problems outside, and focus your heart on me, within you. It may take time, but the images of the world that consume your mind will dissolve, and soon be replaced with the reality of me, here in your heart. And then, without even trying, you will be overwhelmed with an intense feeling of thankfulness. Thankfulness isn’t something you can force; it’s just happens whenever you feel my presence within you. And isn’t it wonderful?

Thank you.

Author: C.J. Penn

Reflections on a double life... I'm just a wanna-be writer. What's it like trying to do serious writing while also being consumed with a full-time engineering job? Between the two, I sometimes don't get much sleep. But I love writing - it gets me out of bed when it's way too dark, just so I can do some work on my book before heading off to work. I'm also passionate about the truth of God and Jesus, a truth that is not always visible in the outward view of the Christian religion. It's this passion that has pulled me out of bed to write for over 6 years now, still working on the same book, a book about truth. Will it ever be finished? God knows.

Please share your thoughts... thanks.

