His Truth Will Set You Free

Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32 NIV)

ALL Sins are Forgiven!


Mary, being raised Catholic, was taught that there are different levels of sinning, and that some sins are not forgiven. Mary attended a small Bible study group I was part of, and she once made a statement that sounded like a mixture of assertion and question. It went something like this, “God doesn’t forgive all sins… right?” Mary had left the Catholic Church, and maybe she was inwardly hoping for an answer different from what she had been taught.

Now, I really don’t know much about the Catholic hierarchy of sins, but I do know what Jesus had to say on the subject…

“And so I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven, … Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man (aka, Jesus) will be forgiven.” (Matthew 12:31-32)

Jesus doesn’t seem to exclude much, when defining for us which sins are forgiven. I wonder; what part of “every” does the Catholic Church not understand?

Author: C.J. Penn

Reflections on a double life... I'm just a wanna-be writer. What's it like trying to do serious writing while also being consumed with a full-time engineering job? Between the two, I sometimes don't get much sleep. But I love writing - it gets me out of bed when it's way too dark, just so I can do some work on my book before heading off to work. I'm also passionate about the truth of God and Jesus, a truth that is not always visible in the outward view of the Christian religion. It's this passion that has pulled me out of bed to write for over 6 years now, still working on the same book, a book about truth. Will it ever be finished? God knows.

11 thoughts on “ALL Sins are Forgiven!

  1. I just stumbled upon your excellent blog and feel that I can help you here by clarifying the Catholic Church’s teaching on sin. I am afraid that Mary was not taught correctly. The Church teaches that there are two types of sin. Venial sin and mortal sin. The main difference being that unrepented venial sins are not a barrier to salvation but unrepented mortal sins are. There is no sin can cannot be forgiven when repented.

    I also think it would be clearer to all if you quote verses 31-32 from Matthew in their entirety, i.e.,
    31And so I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. 32Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come.

    It is my understanding that the sin against the Holy Spirit is the unrepented mortal sin. I hope this helps explain the Catholic Church’s teaching a little bit better.

    God Bless.


  2. Thank you rabbrady. I really appreciate your help.


  3. I do not believe Jesus forgives all sins.
    Hebrews 10:26

    This idea that a terrible evil person can magically be forgiven of all sins is one part of the Christian Faith I can not believe in.

    There is such a thing as cause and effect. Karma


  4. Hi Lola Hoi,

    Thanks for commenting. Hebrews 10:26 says, “If we deliberately keep on sinning after we have received the knowledge of the truth, no sacrifice for sins is left,” I believe this to be absolutely true. But I don’t think it conflicts with what I originally wrote.
    Perhaps I should have added some clarification. My point is that there is no sin against Jesus this is unforgivable. It’s not sin that sends us to hell; it’s our response to sin.
    For example, if we desire not to sin in the first place, yet sin anyway because of our lack of self-control (this is me on a daily basis); then our response to the sin is that we wish we hadn’t. This is what it means to be repentant.
    Another example: if we intentionally sin, but then later realize our error and wish we had not sinned, then this is repentance as well.
    But, if we intentionally sin, and keep on sinning without any remorse, then this is what the writer of Hebrews is talking about. And note that remorse can come years later, like in my case; decades ago I sinned unceasingly, with no remorse. That was before I knew the truth of Jesus Christ. But now I feel remorse for all those past sins, and I am forgiven.
    Again, it is not the sin that condemns us; it is our response. If we respond with remorse (i.e., repentance), than the nature of the sin doesn’t matter. We are forgiven because of our repentant response to the sin.
    It all boils down to faith. It’s faith that can feed our love for Jesus, and it’s love for Jesus that can determine our response to our sinful ways. And it’s faith that allow us to believe in the love of Jesus, and that He does forgive us, not by magic, but by grace. We don’t deserve it, but He loves and forgives us anyway. As Jesus said many times, your faith has healed you.

    By the way, there is absolutely cause and effect in this story. There must be justice; with justice there is an effect, which is the penalty for the crime. Our sin is the cause. The effect was that Jesus took upon himself the penalty for our sins. As Jesus himself said, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command.” (John 15:13-14)
    By His love for us, Jesus laid down His life for us. All He asks of us is to obey His commands. Repenting of our sins is one way we obey.

    To all who may read this, please believe in the magnitude of Jesus’ love for you.


  5. Hello,
    I think that if you understand the Gospel then your understanding of forgiveness will be greatly enhanced. The gospel can be descibed in 4 words;sin death forgiveness life. Adam sinned and the death that occurred was a spiritual death. The very spirit of God that was breathe into mankind was taken away from us at that moment. In order for God to restore this spirit he needed to deal with the sin issue first. He died on the cross as a man (Jesus) and in doing so forgave sin. All sin past present and future of everyone who has ever lived is now forgiven. Salvation is the restoration of the life of God aka the Holy Spirit of God that was lost in Adam. The first people saved were in the upper room at Pentecost when the Holy Spirit was poured out. So now we are all forgiven and all one must do is believe and
    that faith will save them. Forgiveness enables us to be saved but it is when we believe and are indwelled by the HS that we have the life of God inside of us. And since all sin is forgiven there is nothing that will cause that life to leave us again. Likewise if All sin were not forgiven then the first time a believer sins the HS would leave us just as it did in Eden.


  6. WAlso someone commented on Hebrew 10:26. Some think this is saying that if a believer sins willfully then they are lost. This is not so. This verse was written to Jewish believers (thts why the book is called Hebrews) who were still offering animal sacrifices after they accepted Jesus as the ultimate sacrifice. What this verse is actually saying is that if you are a believer who has accepted the fact that you are forgiven then there is no more sacrifice for your sins even willful sins. No more animal sacrifices or grain offerings or confessions or penance nothing! There is no more sacrifice and if you think there is then maybe you are not really a believer. Maybe you better check yourself cuz you might be lost and on your way to destruction.


  7. Thank you guys for writing this. Ive been a believer for a little over a year and have fully accepted the sacrifice of my Beloved savior but sometimes he feels further away than he really is. Keep this up. Praise Jesus for His ultimate grace. Abraham lincoln said `i have been driven to my knees many times by the overwhelming knowledge that i had nowhere else to go.` this truth sets my heart aglow. Jesus is the only place we can go for ultimate forgiveness and he embraces all of us with a joy filled heart. I cant wait to see You face to face Jesus. Thank you for loving us in spite of our impurities. Thank you for the assurance that everyone who is in you has put you on so that the Father sees us purified rather than dirty. Praise Your Holy Name. Love, your servants. Amen.


  8. i have a friend who sold her soul to the devil but she repented and became a believer. is she forgiven of this terrible sin? please show me some verses that might help her. also does it say in the bible that there is a sin jesus’s blood will NEVER clean? i hope not besause i have probably done it. REALLY WORRIED! please leave a verse about this to.


    thanks for your help!

    God bless you all! :)


  9. Dear Maddie,
    I’m so very sorry it has taken me so long to respond. I have no excuse. But I will try to answer your questions.

    First of all, there is no one who does not sin: “There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” (Romans 3:23-24) Yet, we are all freely justified (forgiven) by God’s grace.
    I really want to focus on one particular word in the above verse: “and.” Check it out: “…all have sinned… AND are justified freely…”
    It’s not “all have sinned… but…”. This is significant. We sin, AND God love us. I think it’s like saying that God’s love for us is not affected by our sins. “And” means that forgiveness by God’s grace is always there for us, no matter the nature of our sins. All we need do is believe it (that’s faith).

    And check out what Jesus has to say about sinners: “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” (Matthew 9:12-13) Jesus came FOR sinners. I’m so grateful.

    But did God send Jesus to punish sinners? “For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” (John 3:17)

    And maybe more specifically to your friends concerns, Jesus said, “All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.” (John 6:37) Your friend came to Jesus; she will never be driven away. This can only mean she is indeed forgiven.

    “But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense – Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.” (1 John 2:1-2) The sins of the whole world; this includes a lot. In fact, it looks like it includes every sin.

    To your question about an unforgivable sin: Jesus said, “And so I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man (Jesus) will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come.” (Matthew 12:31-32)
    I sincerely believe that if anyone committed such a sin as “speaking against the Holy Spirit,” they would know it in their heart and there would be no doubt as to them being unforgiven. Since you appear to not be sure, I am certain that you have not committed the unforgivable sin.

    I have only presented a small sample of verses that talk about our forgiveness. I strongly encourage you to read the word of God for yourself. I recommend you stick with the New Testament for now. If you are undecided on where to start, I would recommend the gospel of John. Jesus’ words are life-given and very freeing. There’s power that will heal all wounds.

    Good luck Maddie,






Please share your thoughts... thanks.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers